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FAQ: 2014-15 Professional Development Rules

Q. How often do | have to take the Child Maltreatment Mandated Reporter training for ADE educator licensure renewal?
A. In the 2013-14 school year, and every fourth year thereafter.

Q. As a public school educator, how many hours of professional development must | have this school year?
A. Public school educators must complete the 60-hour minimum professional development requirement per Standards
Accreditation. Of those 60 hours, 36 hours are required for licensure renewal.

Q. How many professional development credit hours do | need for licensure renewal if | am not under a teaching
contract at an accredited school?
A. You will need to complete 36 hours annually, which includes required Scheduled Professional Development.

Q. How do | determine the 18 hours prescribed by the Professional Growth Plan (TESS Rules), when | am unemployed
and have no such plan?

A: Select ADE-approved professional development programs that: are required by law and by rule; best fits your
licensure area; and would help you become a more effective educator.

Q. My job requires me to provide the 2-hour, Scheduled Professional Development trainings for our licensed staff. Does
my training content need prior approval by ADE?

A. You may facilitate the 2-hour, Scheduled Professional Development as required for licensure renewal; however, the
content shall be provided by or through the entities listed under the Scheduled Professional Development Section in the
Rules Governing Professional Development.

Q. Is there a required Parental Involvement course on ArkansasIDEAS.org for teachers to watch or will any of them meet
the requirement for 2014-20157

A. Courses in the Parental Involvement Library of ArkansasIDEAS.org are approved, and can be taken to complete the 2-
hour requirement for 2014-15, and every 4" year thereafter.

Q. How many professional development hours are possible for college credit hours?
A. A three-hour college course, may count as 15 professional development hours. Beginning in 2014-15, no more than
half of the 36 professional development hours required for licensure renewal may include college credit hours.

Q. Where will | find the form that allows me to get Professional Development hours for a college course?
A. Contact: ADE Educator Licensure by telephone: 501.682.4342 or email: ade.educatorlicensure @arkansas.gov

Q. Is the 6-hour technology credit still required for licensure renewal?
A. No, this is no longer an annual statewide requirement for licensure renewal. We are hopeful you will integrate the use
of technology in all of your professional development opportunities, especially with instruction and assessment.

Q. Is there a deadline for Dyslexia Professional Awareness training?
A. Yes, this training must be completed by June 30, 2015. An approved course is available via ArkansasIDEAS.org
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