SIATECH

APPROVED WAIVERS
District LEA: 60-52-700 Elementary School LEA: N/A
City: Little Rock Middle School LEA: N/A
Opening Date: Fall 2011 High School LEA: 60-52-703
Grades Approved: 9-12 Expiration Date: 6/30/2019
CAP: 275 Grades Served 2016-2017: 9-12

Waivers from Title 6 of the Arkansas Code Annotated (Education Code)

6-10-106
6-11-129
6-13-109
6-13-608
6-13-611
6-13-615
6-13-616
6-13-619(c) and (d)
6-13-620
6-13-621
6-13-628
6-13-630
6-13-631
6-13-632
6-13-634
6-13-635
6-14-101 et seq.
6-15-1004
6-15-2302

6-16-102
6-16-124

6-17-111
6-17-114
6-17-203
6-17-301
6-17-302
6-17-309
6-17-401
6-17-418
6-17-902
6-17-908
6-17-919
6-17-1501 et seq.
6-17-1701 et seq.
6-17-2403

School year dates

Data to be accessible on website

School superintendent

Length of directors’ terms

Vacancies generally

Election—Single member zones

Director eligibility

Monthly meetings

Powers and duties

Authority to convey section lands

Purchases in small communities without bids

Election by zone and at large

Effect of minority population on election

Adequate meeting facilities required

School district board of directors—Size

School board review and approval of salary increases
School Elections

Qualified teachers in every public school classroom
General business manager-—Responsibilities—Minimum qualifications

School day hours
Arkansas history (to be incorporated into other social studies curriculum)

Duty-free lunch periods

Daily planning period

Committees on personnel policies—Members
Employment of certified personnel
Principals—Responsibilities

Certification to teach grade or subject matter—Exceptions—Waivers
Teacher licensure requirement

Teacher licensure—Arkansas history requirement
Definition (definition of a teacher as licensed)
Teachers’ salary fund—Authorized disbursements
Warrants void without valid certification and contract
Teacher Fair Dismissal Act

Public School Employee Fair Hearing Act

Minimum teacher compensation schedule




6-18-213(f) Policy of dropping a student who is absent from daily attendance for
more than 10 consecutive school days, except as allowed by rule, from
attendance records of the school

6-18-1001 et seq. Public School Student Services Act
6-20-2208(c)(6) Monitoring of expenditures (gifted and talented)
6-25-101 et seq. Public School Library and Media Technology Act
6-42-101 et seq. General Provisions (gifted and talented)

Waivers from ADE Rules Governing Standards for Accreditation of Arkansas Public Schools and Districts

9.03.1.2 The Smart Core curriculum contained within 38 units that must be
taught each year

9.03.4 Grades 9-12 (courses to be taught, requiring the 38 units of credit)

9.03.4.11 AP Courses

10.01.3 At least 10 days or 60 hours shall be used for professional development

and in-service training and at least two (2) days shall be used for
parent/teacher conferences

14.03 Unit of credit and clock hours for a unit of credit

15 Personnel

16.01.3 Requiring a certified counselor at each school at a ratio of 1 to 450
16.02 Media Services

16.03.3 Student health records

18 Gifted and Talented Education

Waivers from Other Rules:

ADE Rules Governing Parental Notification of an Assignment of a Non-Licensed Teacher to Teach a Class for More
than Thirty (30) Consecutive Days and for Granting Waivers

ADE Rules Governing Mandatory Attendance Requirements for Students in Grades Nine through Twelve

ADE Rules Governing Nutrition and Physical Activity Standards and Body Mass Index for Age Assessment Protocols
in Arkansas Public Schools (those portions of the standards involving Ark. Code Ann. § 6-16-132)

Final ADE Rules and Regulations Four-day School Weeks
Certified staff salary schedule

Certain provisions of state law shall not be waived. The public charter school is subject to any prohibition,
restriction, or requirement imposed by Title 6 of the Arkansas Code Annotated and any rule and requlation
approved by the State Board of Education under this title relating to:

* Monitoring compliance with Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-23-101 et seq. as determined by the
Commissioner of the Department of Education;

» Conducting criminal background checks for employees;

* High school graduation requirements as established by the State Board of Education;

* Special education programs as provided by this title;

* Public school accountability under this title;

« Ethical guidelines and prohibitions as established by Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-24-101 et seq., and any
other controlling state or federal law regarding ethics or conflicts of interest; and

» Health and safety codes as established by the State Board of Education and local governmental entities.

Also, any teacher, whether licensed or unlicensed, who teaches a core academic subject area must meet the
requirements of the ADE Rules Governing Arkansas Qualified Teacher Requirements. Core academic subjects
include English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Early Childhood (Elementary), Music, Art and
Foreign Language.



