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SIATECH 
AN OPEN-ENROLLMENT CHARTER SCHOOL 

WAIVERS 
 
 

District LEA: 60-52-700 Elementary School LEA: N/A 
City: Little Rock Middle School LEA: N/A 

Opening Date: Fall 2011 High School LEA: 60-52-703 
Grades Approved: 9-12 Expiration Date:  6/30/2016 

CAP: 275 Grades Served 2013-2014: 9-12 
 
 
 
Waivers from Title 6 of the Arkansas Code Annotated (Education Code) 
6-10-106  School year dates 
6-11-129  Data to be accessible on website 
6-13-109  School superintendent 
6-13-608  Length of directors’ terms 
6-13-611  Vacancies generally 
6-13-616  Director eligibility 
6-13-620  Powers and duties 
6-15-1004  Qualified teachers in every public school classroom 
6-15-2302  General business manager—Responsibilities—Minimum qualifications 
6-16-102  School day hours 
6-16-124  Arkansas history 
6-17-111  Duty-free lunch periods 
6-17-114  Daily planning period  
6-17-203  Committees on personnel policies—Members 
6-17-301  Employment of certified personnel 
6-17-302  Principals—Responsibilities 
6-17-309  Certification to teach grade or subject matter—Exceptions—Waivers 
6-17-401  Teacher licensure requirement 
6-17-418  Teacher licensure—Arkansas history requirement 
6-17-902  Definition (definition of a teacher as licensed) 
6-17-908  Teachers’ salary fund—Authorized disbursements 
6-17-919 Warrants void without valid certification and contract (the only requirement which 

would be waived is the ability to pay a teacher’s salary only upon filing of a 
teacher’s certificate with the county clerk’s office, if the requirement of a teacher’s 
certificate is waived for such teacher) 

6-17-1501 et seq. Teacher Fair Dismissal Act 
6-17-1701 et seq. Public School Employee Fair Hearing Act 
6-17-2403 Minimum teacher compensation schedule 
6-18-213(f) Policy of dropping a student who is absent from daily attendance for more than 

10 consecutive school days, except as allowed by rule, from attendance records 
of the school 

6-18-1001 et seq. Public School Student Services Act 
6-20-2208(c)(6)  Monitoring of expenditures (gifted and talented) 
6-25-101 et seq. Public School Library and Media Technology Act 
6-42-101 et seq. General Provisions (gifted and talented) 
 
Waivers from Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing Standards for Accreditation of 
Arkansas Public Schools and Districts 
9.03.1.2 The Smart Core curriculum contained within 38 units that must be taught  

each year 
9.03.4   Grades 9-12 (courses to be taught, requiring the 38 units of credit) 
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9.03.4.11  AP Courses 
10.01.3 At least 10 days or 60 hours shall be used for professional development and in-

service training and at least two (2) days shall be used for parent/teacher 
conferences 

14.03   Unit of credit and clock hours for a unit of credit (clock hours) 
15   Personnel 
16.01.3   Requiring a certified counselor at each school at a ratio of 1 to 450 
16.02    Media Services 
16.03.3   Student health records 
18    Gifted and Talented Education 
 
Waivers from Other Rules: 

• ADE Rules Governing Parental Notification of an Assignment of a Non-Licensed Teacher to 
Teach a Class for More than Thirty (30) Consecutive Days and for Granting Waivers 

• ADE Rules Governing Mandatory Attendance Requirements for Students in Grades Nine through 
Twelve 

• ADE Rules Governing Nutrition and Physical Activity Standards and Body Mass Index for Age 
Assessment Protocols in Arkansas Public Schools (those portions of the standards involving Ark. 
Code Ann. § 6-16-132) 

• Final ADE Rules and Regulations Four-day School Weeks 
• Certified staff salary schedule 
• ADE Rules Governing Public School Student Services 
 

Regardless of any waivers granted, every charter school must always abide by the following 
requirements: 
 

• All standardized assessments required by the state must be administered solely by licensed 
personnel, as required by ADE Rules Governing the Arkansas Comprehensive Testing 
Assessment and Accountability Program, Sections 5.02.4 and 5.03.2. Violations of ADE 
assessment procedures are subject to sanctions by the State Board, including without limitation 
sanctions pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-15-438 and 6-23-105.  

• All teachers and school personnel, whether licensed or unlicensed, must submit to the criminal 
background and central registry checks required by law. 

• Any teacher, whether licensed or unlicensed, who teaches a core academic subject area must 
meet the requirements of the ADE Rules Governing Highly Qualified Teachers Pursuant to the No 
Child Left Behind Act of 2001. Core academic subject areas are defined by federal law to include 
English Language Arts, Reading, Mathematics, Science, Foreign Languages, Social Studies, 
Music, and Art. 


