
 

 INTENT FORMS Provided by Home Ed (Home Educators of Greater Little Rock)  

About the Forms - What, When, and Who According to Arkansas law, a 
"Notice of Intent to Home School" and a "Home School Waiver Form" 
electronic submission or paper copy must be submitted to your local school 
district EACH YEAR that you homeschool.  
The deadline for submitting these forms is August 15 of each year or 
December 15 (to begin homeschooling the second semester), or anytime 
during the year (with a required 14-day waiting period). Your Superintendent 
or local School Board has the authority to waive the 14-day waiting period. If 
you just moved into the state or district, these forms should be filed within 
thirty calendar days of establishing residency with the district. Whether 
delivering by hand or by mail, these forms must arrive at your school 
district (not just be postmarked) by the deadline.  
If your child is 5 years old on or before August 1st of the listing school year, 
you must either register them as a kindergartner OR fill out a kindergarten 
waiver form. If you do the latter, you may wait until the next year to register 
them as a kindergartner, and from then on they will be an older child than 
what is typical for each grade they're in….OR you can register them as a first 
grader (thereby skipping kindergarten). Completion of kindergarten is not a 
requirement under Arkansas law.  
If your child is 6 years old on or before August 1st of the listing school year, 
you must fill out an Intent Form and Waiver Form (for either Kindergarten or 
1st Grade).  
Obtaining the Forms - The state of Arkansas usually has updated 
homeschool registration forms for the upcoming school year finalized and 
available around June of each year.  
To download copies of the "Notice of Intent to Home School" and the "Home 
School Waiver Form" go to the web site of the Home School Office of the 
Arkansas Department of Education. This site also has a very helpful 
example of a completed form. These forms can also be obtained from your 
school district. 



The Kindergarten Waiver Forms may be obtained from the Superintendent's 
office of the school district in which you live or from the Home School Office of 
the Arkansas Department of Education.  
Printing the Forms To print the Notice of Intent to Home School - set your 
printer on the LANDSCAPE (sideways) orientation. To print the Home School 
Waiver Form - reset your printer back to the PORTRAIT (up and down) 
orientation.  
Completing the Forms A great start in understanding how to complete the 
Intent Form would be to review the "Example Notice of Intent” that is on the 
Department of Education's web site. Note how simplistically the curriculum 
and study schedules are described. This does not need to be detailed 
information.  
Also note that the “Educational Qualifications of Parent/Teacher(s)” has no 
bearing on whether or not you may teach your child. It is informational only.  
You are asked to list your Superintendent and School District. The name of 
the Superintendent is not critically important - but you should make a good 
effort. If there has been a recent superintendent change, they will understand 
if you list the previous superintendent. You can find information on your 
Superintendent and School Districts in the section below, entitled “Submitting 
the Forms”.  
How do you know what school district you're in? This can be a tough one. 
Identifying your district may not be that intuitive. Many have had one city's 
address and phone number but actually be in a neighboring school district. 
We know of no "school district lookup" site on the web. Here is what most 
people do:  
  
This is probably the best way - Contact the Tax Assessors Office for your 
county. This is where the local tax dollars go to pay for schools and they must 
allocate the money appropriately. Therefore, they should be able to look up 
your address and give you your school district. The State of Arkansas has a 
list of County Assessors and their web sites. The different counties web pages 
vary in style, but look for a phone number at the bottom, in the margin, or 
many have a "Contact Us" link - then call them. 
 
Use your house realtor papers to see what they listed...or go online to look at 
houses for sale in your neighborhood. See what school district they list for that 
nearby house.  
 



Call the district you believe you live in. Give the district your address. The 
school district should be able to tell you if you reside in their district.  
 
Your home address that you list on this form will be what the Department of 
Education uses as an address to mail testing notification information to you at 
testing time. Should you move after submitting the form, you will want to notify 
your district (the old and new districts - if your move changes your district) of 
your new address.  
 
There is a place on the Intent Form where you can indicate whether your child 
is eligible for state assistance in obtaining special needs services. Legally, 
homeschool students with special needs can dip into the same pot of money 
as private school students for extra assistance. However, the Education 
Alliance (our state-level homeschool group) recommends that you NOT check 
that status box. The reasons are two-fold. First, there is not a lot of money in 
that pot so it is unlikely your child would receive any substantial amount of 
assistance. Second, and more importantly, every time the legislature gets 
together, special needs students come up as an issue. A significant number of 
legislators do not think you should be allowed to homeschool your special 
needs child. If you check that box, it will tag your child as a special needs 
child. You might want to protect your choice of homeschooling should the law 
ever change, by not checking the box.  
 
Make and keep a copy of your Notice of Intent and Waiver before you 
submit the original to the Superintendent. You will never need to fill out the 
notarization section of the Intent Form on the original form.  
The notarization section of the Intent Form will only apply to a copy of the Intent 
Form and only for those who have a homeschool child that will be pursuing the 
written portion of their driver’s license this year. The copy of the “Notice of Intent” 
should be notarized before a Notary Public. Notaries can be found at banks, law 
offices, insurance.   
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