BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
FEBRUARY 11, 2016

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND ORDER
IN RE MICHELLE RENEE MCCOY

At its February 11, 2016, meeting, the Arkansas State Board of Education (Board)
accepted the recommendation of the Department for the suspension of Ms. McCoy’s Arkansas
teaching license until Ms. McCoy fulfills her obligation for repayment of National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards funds. Based upon the Department’s recommendation and the
evidence presented, in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-
15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as follows:

L Findings of Fact:
a. Michelle Renee McCoy holds a standard Arkansas teaching license valid from
January 1, 2013, to December 31, 2017,

b. The Arkansas Department of Education provided funds for Michelle Renee McCoy to

complete National Board of Professional Teaching Standards certification.

c. Ms. McCoy did not complete the certification or otherwise failed to comply with Ark.

Code Ann. § 6-17-413 and/or the Arkansas Department of Education Rules
Governing the Eligibility and Financial Incentives for National Board for Professional
Standards Candidacy and Certification.

d. Asaresult, Ms. McCoy owes the Department $2,587.75.

e. The Department’s letter to Ms. McCoy was returned unclaimed and the Department

has not been able to establish contact with her. The Department has been informed

that Ms. McCoy has moved out of the state with no forwarding address.
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f. Therefore, the Department recommends that the Board suspend Ms. McCoy’s

Arkansas teaching license until she fulfills her obligation for repayment of the

NBPTS funds.

IL. Conclusions of Law:

a. A teacher who receives state monies for the participation fee of the national board but
who does not complete the certification process within three years after entry into the
certification program or who becomes certified by the national board but does not
teach or serve as a building level administrator for three continuous years shall repay
the department the amount it contributed to the participation fee and the total amount
it contributed to any yearly bonus. Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-413(b)(1).

b. The State Board of Education has the authority to waive repayment of State monies in
cases of death, disability, or extenuating circumstances. Arkansas Code Annotated
§ 6-17-413 (b) (4) provides that repayment of monies contributed by the department
1s not required if, due to the death or disability of the teacher or other extenuating
circumstances as may be recognized by the State Board of Education, the teacher
does not complete the certification process of the National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards.

c. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting and pursuant to its legal
authority and the jurisdiction vested in the State Board by Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-11-
105, 6-17-401, 6-17-413, and 25-15-201 et scq., and the Board adopts the

recommendation of the Department.
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d. Accordingly, the Board suspends Ms. McCoy’s Arkansas teaching license until she
fulfills her obligation for the repayment of the NBPTS Program funds in the amount
of $2,587.75.

e. This order shall become a permanent entry in the licensure file of the educator.
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Toyce Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education

[T IS SO ORDERED.

Page 3 of 3
IN RE MICHELLE RENEE MCCOY



