BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
FEBRUARY 11, 2016

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND ORDER
IN RE KELLIE LOUISE LAMONICA
At its February 11, 2016, meeting, the Arkansas State Board of Education (Board)
accepted the recommendation of the Department for a waiver of repayment of National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards funds for Kellie Louise LaMonica. Based upon the
Department’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
L Findings of Fact:
a. Kellie Louise LaMonica holds a standard Arkansas teaching license valid from
January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2020.
b. The Arkansas Department of Education provided funds for Kellie Louise [.aMonica
to complete National Board of Professional Teaching Standards certification,
¢. Ms. LaMonica did not complete the certification or otherwise failed to comply with
Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-413 and/or the Arkansas Department of Education Rules
Governing the Eligibility and Financial Incentives for National Board for Professional
Standards Candidacy and Certification.
d. Asa result, Ms. LaMonica owes the Department $2,500.00.
e. OnMay 11, 2015, the Department advised Ms. LaMonica of her obligation for the
repayment of funds and afforded her the opportunity to seek a waiver of that
obligation from the Board. Ms. LaMonica requested a waiver and provided evidence

of extensive health issues for herself and disability over a period of several years for
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herself as well as serious family circumstances that resulted in her inability to
complete certification. Therefore, the Department recommends that the Board waive

repayment of the NBPTS funds due to those extenuating circumstances.

II. Conclusions of Law:

a.

A teacher who receives state monies for the participation fee of the national board but
who does not complete the certification process within three years after entry into the
certification program or who becomes certified by the national board but does not
teach or serve as a building level administrator for three continuous years shall repay
the department the amount it contributed to the participation fee and the total amount
it contributed to any yearly bonus. Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-413(b}(1).

The State Board of Education has the authority to waive repayment of State monies in
cases of death, disability, or extenuating circumstances. Arkansas Code Annotated

§ 6-17-413 (b) (4) provides that repayment of monies contributed by the department
is not required if, due to the death or disability of the teacher or other extenuating
circumstances as may be recognized by the State Board of Education, the teacher
does not complete the certification process of the National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting and pursuant to its legal
authority and the jurisdiction vested in the State Board by Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-11-
105, 6-17-401, 6-17-413, and 25-15-201 ct seq., and the Board adopts the

recommendation of the Department.
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d. Accordingly, the Board waives the repayment of the NBPTS Program funds from
Kellie Louise [.aMonica in the amount of $2,500.00.
e. This order shall become a permanent entry in the licensure file of the educator.

IT IS SO ORDERED. —~ j
\.jﬁb]{,&/ . /

Toyce Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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