BEFORE THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
OCTOBER 8, 2015

FINDINGS OF FACT., CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND ORDER
IN RE MIRANDA MCDIARMID

At its October 8, 2015, meeting, the Arkansas State Board of Education (Board) accepted

the recommendation of the Department for a waiver of repayment of National Board for

Professional Teaching Standards funds for Miranda McDiarmid. Based upon the Department’s

recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the Administrative Procedures

Act, Ark. Code Ann, 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as follows:

L. Findings of Fact:

d.

The Arkansas Department of Education provided funds for Miranda McDiarmid to
complete National Board of Professional Teaching Standards certification.

Ms. McDiarmid did not complete the certification or otherwise failed to comply with
Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-413 and/or the Arkansas Department of Education Rules
Governing the Eligibility and Financial Incentives for National Board for Professional
Standards Candidacy and Certification.

As aresult, Ms. McDiarmid owes the Department $2,500.

Ms. McDiarmid has provided evidence of extensive health issues over a period of at
lcast two years for herself and her children that resulted in her inability to complete
certification. She was also on medical leave from her employment during that time.
The Department recommends that the Board waive repayment of the NBPTS funds
due to those health and extenuating circumstances outlined in Ms. McDiarmid’s

exhibits.

Page 1 of 2
IN RE MIRANDA MCDIARMID



I1.

Conclusions of Law:

d.

C.

A teacher who receives state monies for the participation fee of the national board but
who does not complete the certification process within three years after entry into the
certification program or who becomes certified by the national board but does not
teach or serve as a building level administrator for three continuous years shall repay
the department the amount it contributed to the participation fee and the total amount
it contributed to any yearly bonus. Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-413(b)(1).

The State Board of Education has the authority to waive repayment of State monies in
cases of death, disability, or extenuating circumstances. Arkansas Code Annotated

§ 6-17-413 (b) (4) provides that repayment of monies contributed by the department
is not required if, due to the death or disability of the teacher or other extenuating
circumstances as may be recognized by the State Board of Education, the teacher
does not complete the certification process of the National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting and pursuant to its legal
authority and the jurisdiction vested in the State Board by Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-11-
105, 6-17-401, 6-17-413, and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Board adopts the
recommendation of the Department.

Accordingly, effective on October 8, 2015, the Board waives the repayment of the
NBPTS Program funds from Miranda McDiarmid in the amount of $2,500.

This order shall become a permanent entry in the licensure file of the educator.

[T IS 50O ORDERED:

Toyce Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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