
AUTOMATIC RENEWAL 
 
A standard Arkansas Teaching License shall be automatically renewed by the office of Professional 
Licensure upon meeting the following requirements: 
 

1. Applicant shall hold a standard teaching license. 
 

2. Applicant shall be teaching in an Arkansas public school during the year of the expiration of the 
license. 

 
3. Applicant shall have successfully cleared a non-criminal background check by the Arkansas State 

Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation (at least once, as required by law). 
 

4. Applicant shall have successfully cleared a child maltreatment central registry check upon the first 
renewal of a standard teaching license.  

 
5. Applicant shall have completed the required 60 hours of professional development annually 

beginning with the 2005-2006 school year. 
 

6. Applicant shall have paid the required $100 renewal fee. 
 

7. Automatic Renewals will occur in the fall of the last effective year of the license.  
 

8. The new license will be mailed to the school district of employment prior to licensure expiration 
date. 

 
GENERAL RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS 

 
Applicants who do not meet the requirements for Automatic Renewal must submit an application for the 
renewal of their teaching license to the office of Professional Licensure. 
 
Renewal packets, which include the application for renewal and background check information, may be 
secured through the office of Professional Licensure by calling 501-682-4342. 
 
Applications for renewal and background check information may also be secured through the 
Superintendent’s office of local school districts. 
 
A standard Arkansas Teaching License shall be renewed by the Professional Licensure office upon meeting 
the following requirements: 
 
T General Renewal Requirement Checklist 
 

 Application 
 

 Non-Criminal Background Check (at least once, as required by law) 
 

 Child Maltreatment Central Registry Check (when renewing a standard license for the first time) 
 

 Verification of Professional Development 
Applicant must provide verification documenting 60 clock hours annually beginning with the 
2005-2006 school year.  
 
If you have retired, professional development may be waived by submitting a letter from Arkansas 
Teacher Retirement verifying your retirement date. 
 

  January 1, 2010 



Documentation of the required professional development for the renewal of a teaching   license 
shall be provided by a public school superintendent, human resources director, or director of 
other agency/organization employing licensed teachers. 
 

 $100 licensure renewal fee 
 
 
 

CURRENT OR EXPIRING LICENSE 
 

General Renewal Requirements may be used to renew a license that will expire or has been expired for less 
than one year. 
  
A one-year, non-renewable provisional license shall be available for applicants not meeting general 
renewal requirements.  (See page 3) No fee is required for the provisional teaching license. 
 
 

EXPIRED LICENSE 
 
Applicants holding a teaching license that has expired for more than one (1) year and who have completed 
a previous specialty area assessment in at least one licensure/endorsement area must meet the following 
requirements for renewal: 
 
T Renewal Requirement Checklist-License expired more than one (1) year with specialty area exam 
 

 Application 
 

 Non-Criminal Background Check (at least once, as required by law) 
 

 Child Maltreatment Central Registry Check (when renewing a standard license for the first time) 
 

 Verification of Completion of Coursework OR Testing  
Coursework—consists of six (6) hours of college level coursework in your area of licensure, 
professional education courses at level of licensure, or in technology taken within the previous 
five (5) years. 
Testing—must complete the current state required specialty area assessment in at least one (1) 
licensure/endorsement area. 

 
 Verification of Professional Development 

Applicant must provide verification documenting 60 clock hours of approved Professional 
Development completed within the previous year. 

 
 $100 licensure renewal fee 

 
 
Applicants holding a teaching license that has expired for more than one (1) year and who have not 
completed a previous specialty area assessment in at least one licensure/endorsement area must meet the 
following requirements for renewal: 
 
T Renewal Requirement Checklist-License expired more than one (1) year without specialty area 
exam 
 

 Application 
 

 Non-Criminal Background Check (at least once, as required by law) 

  January 1, 2010 



  January 1, 2010 

 
 Child Maltreatment Central Registry Check (when renewing a standard license for the first time) 

 
 Verification of Testing  

Applicant must complete the current state required Praxis II specialty area assessment in at least 
one (1) licensure/endorsement area and the state required Praxis II pedagogy assessment at their 
level of licensure. 

 
 Verification of Professional Development 

Applicant must provide verification documenting 60 clock hours of approved Professional 
Development completed within the previous year. 

 
 $100 licensure renewal fee 

 
PROVISIONAL LICENSE 

 
A one-year, non-renewable provisional teaching license shall be available for applicants not meeting 
general renewal requirements and for applicants whose licenses have been expired for one year or longer.  
 
T Provisional License Requirement Checklist 
 

 Application 
 

 Non-Criminal Background Check (at least once, as required by law) 
 

 Child Maltreatment Central Registry Check (when renewing a standard license for the first time) 
 

 Verification of Employment (in an educational setting in Arkansas) 
 
 
 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 
Renewed teaching licenses shall be valid for a period of five (5) years; shall become effective 
January 1 of the year it is issued; and shall expire December 31 of the fifth (5) year. 
 
Applicants shall not lose areas or levels of licensure at renewal as a result of transitioning to the 
new areas and levels of licensure. When possible, old areas of licensure areas will be converted to 
the newly adopted licensure areas at renewal. In some instances, there may be a change in the 
wording of the licensure area; however, the grade levels will remain the same. 
 
 

QUESTIONS REGARDING LICENSURE RENEWAL 
 
Please address any questions you may have regarding license renewal to Professional Licensure. 
We may be reached at 501-682-4342 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday-
Friday. 
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