Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

News Releases

Statewide Common Core Event


The Arkansas Department of Education, in partnership with Arkansas ASCD and the Common Core State Standards Guiding Coalition, is hosting a statewide conversation to raise awareness in local communities about the Common Core State Standards.

Arkansas Teacher of the Year Honored with National Award


ADE congratulates Kathy Powers, 2011 Arkansas Teacher of the Year, for receiving a prestigious national teaching award.

Districts Honored for Having Top Gifted and Talented Programs


Three Arkansas school districts were honored this week for having the top gifted and talented programs in the state.

Cleveland Named Assistant Commissioner for Finance


Arkansas Education Commissioner Dr. Tom Kimbrell today announced the hiring of Jared Cleveland, a proven and multi-talented school leader, as assistant commissioner for the Division of Fiscal and Administrative Services.

Arkansas Student Delegates Chosen for U.S. Senate Youth Program


Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman today announced that Payton Finch of Paragould and Nathanael Mickelson of Alma have been selected as delegates to the 50th Anniversary United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP)

Arkansas Ranks Fifth in Latest Education Analysis Published by Education Week


Gov. Beebe announced today that Arkansas's public education system placed fifth nationally in the 2012 Quality Counts analysis by Education Week

Governor's Workforce Cabinet Announces STEM Works Schools


The Governor's Workforce Cabinet today announces that 15 districts throughout the state and one technical center have been chosen as the first participants in the administration's STEM Works initiative

New National Board Certified Teachers Announced


ADE announces and congratulates the 312 teachers throughout the state that have attained their national board certification

Monticello Teacher Named Arkansas Teacher of the Year


Kimberly Kaye Wilson, a visual art teacher at Monticello High School, today received the honor of being named Arkansas Teacher of the Year during a surprise assembly at her school

Arkansas Department of Education Leads U.S. in Progressive Data Development


Arkansas ranks first among the 50 states in taking action toward expanding data development with the goal of improving education policy throughout the state

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESEA Flexibility

Learn More

Latest News & Events

Learn More