Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

News Releases

PARCC Governing Board Approves Math Assessments for College and Career Readiness, Retest Policy and Tech Specs


The Governing Board of the Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) held a meeting on December 13, 2012, which included a joint session with the PARCC Advisory Committee on College Readiness (ACCR).

Resources for Schools to Prepare for and Recover from Crisis


All of us who work in education have broken hearts and are haunted by the tragedy visited on the educators, students, and families of the Newtown Public School District and Sandy Hook Elementary School.

Commissioner Kimbrell Issues Statement on Connecticut School Shooting


"Today is a day of sadness and grief for everyone who cares for children."

Your Invitation to Participate in the Laws of Life Essay Contest


The Arkansas Better Business Bureau Center for Character Ethics announces the Laws of Life Essay Contest open to all students in grades 9 through 12.

NAEP Releases New Report


Today, the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)released a new report connecting vocabulary skills to reading comprehension.

Hall High School Teacher Named Arkansas History Teacher of the Year


Sonja Williams, an American history teacher at Hall High School in the Little Rock School District, has been named the 2012 Arkansas History Teacher of the Year by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and Preserve America.

Two Arkansas Districts Vie For Race to the Top Funds


The Springdale School District and the Southwest Arkansas Education Cooperative have been selected as finalists for the Race to the Top-District competition, the U.S. Department of Education announced Monday.

Teacher of the Year Award Ceremony


The 2013 Arkansas Teacher of the Year Award Ceremony will take place Wednesday, November 28, 2012 in the Old Supreme Court Room at the State Capitol.

2013 Arkansas Teacher of the Year


Alexia Weimer, a kindergarten teacher at Avondale Elementary School in the Marion School District, has been named Arkansas’s 2013 Teacher of the Year.

2012 Arkansas School ESEA Accountability Reports Released


The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) today officially released the 2012 school ESEA accountability reports for the first time under standards of the stateʼs new accountability system.

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESEA Flexibility

Learn More

Latest News & Events

Learn More