Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

News Releases

Four Arkansas Schools Recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools


The U.S. Department of Education named four Arkansas schools as 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools. The four public schools were Centerpoint Primary School in the Centerpoint School District, Eastside Elementary School in the Rogers School District, M.A. Hardin Elementary School in the White Hall School District and Norfork Elementary School in the Norfork School District. St. Joseph Catholic School in Fayetteville was also named a National Blue Ribbon School. St. Joseph is a private school.

Four Named Arkansas Teacher of the Year State Finalists


Four exemplary teachers were named 2015 Arkansas Teacher of the Year State Finalists at a ceremony with Gov. Mike Beebe today at the Capitol.

My Child/My Student Communication Campaign Announced


A student's academic success largely depends on positive, ongoing communication between a parent and teacher. To encourage productive conversations, the Arkansas Department of Education announces the My Child/My Student campaign. The campaign is a joint effort between ADE, the State Board of Education, and public education advocacy and support groups around the state.

Arkansas Teacher of the Year Regional Finalists Announced


Fifteen outstanding teachers from around the state have been selected as 2015 Arkansas Teacher of the Year Regional Finalists. Gov. Mike Beebe will recognize them at a ceremony scheduled for 10 a.m. Sept. 16 in the Old Supreme Court Room at the Capitol. The top four finalists will be announced at the event.

Graduates Score Higher on ACT


Arkansas high school graduates performed better on the ACT in 2014, with scores advancing in multiple areas. These scores are reflective of the last ACT exam taken by 2014 seniors.

21 New Schools/Districts Receive Grants


The Arkansas Department of Education is pleased to announce that 21 new schools/districts were selected to receive 21st Century Community Learning Center grants to establish before- and after-school programs for youth, families and communities.

SBE Joins Partnership With Foundations


The Arkansas Board of Education on Thursday voted to establish a strategic partnership with the state’s two leading foundations committed to increasing educational attainment.

ADE Announces School Bus Safety Awareness Campaign


B.U.S. (Be aware. U stay alert. So kids don’t get hurt) Awareness is the theme for this year’s school bus safety awareness effort, which began today and will continue through Aug. 29.

U.S. Department of Education Approves Extensions for States Granted Flexibility from No Child Left Behind


The U.S. Department of Education announced today that six states - Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Nevada, South Dakota and Virginia - have received a one-year extension for flexibility from certain provisions of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), also known as No Child Left Behind (NCLB).

Tony Wood Selected as Commissioner


The State Board of Education approved Tony Wood as the Arkansas Department of Education commissioner at its meeting today.

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESEA Flexibility

Learn More

Latest News & Events

Learn More