Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Professional Learning Communities in Arkansas

Project Information

The Arkansas Department of Education, in partnership with Solution Tree, is developing and expanding professional learning communities within schools. These schools will serve as working laboratory schools for the PLC at Work™ process, conducting action research and sharing best practices with other schools throughout the state.  

Intended Outcomes

  • Each school in the project will realize increased levels of student achievement through teacher collaboration, a relentless focus on learning, and a results orientation. 
  • Successful strategies (collaboration, assessment, Response to Intervention (RTI), instruction, engagement, etc.) will be identified, implemented and shared with other schools within the project and throughout the state.

Professional Learning Communities 

Cohort 1 Cohort 2
Ballman Elementary School  in the Fort Smith School District Blytheville Primary School in the Blytheville School District
East Pointe Elementary School in the Greenwood School District
Douglas MacArthur Junior High School in the Jonesboro School District Greer Lingle Middle School in the Rogers School District
Eastside Elementary School in the Greenbrier School District Gurdon School District
Frank Mitchell Intermediate School in the Vilonia School District Hamburg High School in the Hamburg School District
Joe T. Robinson Middle School in the Pulaski County Special School District Howard Perrin Elementary School in the Benton School District
Monticello Middle School in the Monticello School District Murrell Taylor Elementary School in the Jacksonville North Pulaski School District
Morrilton Intermediate School in the South Conway County School District Oaklawn Visual and Performing Arts Magnet in the Hot Springs School District
Premier High School of Little Rock Quitman School District
Prescott School District Rivercrest Elementary School in the Rivercrest School District
Rogers High School in the Rogers School District  
Spradling Elementary School in the Fort Smith School District  


For more information, please contact:

Tina Smith, Director of Policy and Special Projects
Arkansas Department  of Education
Four Capitol Mall, Room 305-A
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-3667

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More