Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Distinguished Schools Awards

Each year, Title I schools are recognized by the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) and the National Association of State Title I Directors (NASTID) through a joint project with the United States Department of Education as Title I Distinguished Schools.  Schools are selected by a state peer review team, the following schools represent examples of superior Title I programs in one of two categories:

  • Category 1: A school that has exceeded Annual Measurable Objectives (AMOs) for two or more years with ESEA flexibility state standards set under Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Act (ESEA).
  • Category 2: A school that has significantly closed the achievement gap between subgroups of students with ESEA flexibility state standards set under Title I of ESEA.

2017 (recognition at 2018 conference in Philadelphis, PA)

Category 1
Gillett Elementary School
313 N. 6th Street
Gillett, AR 72055
Category 2 
DeQueen Elementary School
233 Treating Plant Road
DeQueen, AR 71832

2015 (recognition at 2016 conference in Houston, TX)

Catogory 1
Mount Pleasant, AR
1 Bluebird Lane
Mount Pleasant, AR 72561
Category 2
Euper Lane Elementary School
6601 Euper Lane
Fort Smith, AR, 72903

2014 (recognition at 2015 conference in Salt Lake City, Utah)

Category 1
Des Arc Elementary
600 Main Street
Des Arc, Arkansas 72040
Category 2
Seventh Street Elementary School
1200 Bishop Lindsey Ave
North Little Rock, AR

2013 (recognition at 2014 conference in San Diego, CA)

Category 1
Brookland Elementary School
220 North Oak Street
Brookland, AR 72417 
Category 2
Helen Tyson Middle School
3304 South 40th Street
Springdale, AR 72762

2012 (recognition at 2013 conference in Nashville, TN

Category 1
Mount Pleasant, AR
1 Bluebird Lane
Mount Pleasant, AR 72561


2011 (recognition at 2010 conference in Seattle, WA

Category 2 
Fouke Elementary 
P.O. Box 20
Fouke, AR 71837


2010 (recognition at 2011 conference inTampa, FL 

Category 1
Eastside Elementary School 
505 East New Hope Rd

Rogers, AR 72756
Category 2 
Gibbs Albright Elementary School 
407 Wilkerson Drive
Newport, AR 72112


2009 (recognition at 2010 conference in Washington, DC

Category 1 
Cedar Park Elementary School
1200 Cedar Street
Trumann, AR 72472
Category 2 
Lonoke Middle School
1100 W. Palm Street
Lonoke, AR 72086


2008 (recognition at 2009 conference in San Antonio, TX 

Category 1
Arnold Drive Elementary
4150 Arnold Drive
Jacksonville, AR 72076
Category 2 
Warren Dupree Elementary
700 Gregory Street
Jacksonville, AR 72076



For more information, please contact:

Otistene Smith, Public School Program Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Education
Public School Accountability
Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot #26
Little Rock, AR 72201 
Phone: 501-683-5423
Fax: 501-682-5136

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESEA Flexibility

Learn More

Latest News & Events

Learn More