Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

ESSA Advisory Teams

The purpose of each advisory team is to address specific sections of the ESSA Consolidated Plan. Members of each advisory team have expertise in the area to be addressed. The following advisory teams worked to formulate this plan: Accountability, Comprehensive School Support and Improvement, Educator Equity and Effectiveness, Assessment, English Learners. Advisory teams will be added on topics if/when needed.

Accountability - Louis Ferren, Dr. Denise Airola

Worked to design a state accountability system.
Louis Ferren, Unit Leader
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Public School Accountability
Four Capitol Mall, Room 204B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-4208
Denise T. Airola, Ph.D., Director
Office of Innovation for Education
University of Arkansas
346 N. West Ave. WAAX 23
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Link to accountability team work: 

Comprehensive School Support and Improvement - Jayne Green

Worked to design a support system for schools in need of identified levels of support. 
Jayne Green, Title I Director
Arkansas Department of Education
Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot #26
Little Rock, AR 72201 
Phone: 501-682-4231
Fax: 501-682-5136
Link to comprehensive school support and improvement team work:

Educator Equity and Effectiveness - Suzanne Bailey

Worked to design components of the plan focused on Title II regarding equity, educator preparation and effectiveness.
Suzanne Bailey, Assistant Commissioner
Division of Educator Effectiveness and Licensure
Arkansas Department of Education
Link to educator equity and effectiveness team work:

Assessment - Hope Worsham

Worked to develop an assessment system that meets all ESSA requirements.
Hope Worsham, Director of Student Assessment
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Learning Services
Four Capitol Mall, Room 305-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-4558
Link to assessment team work:

English Learners - Tricia Kerr  

Worked to ensure all ESSA requirements for ESOL programs are met and will coordinate with other advisory teams so that they are informed of the requirements that impact English Learners. 
Tricia Kerr, English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Program Director
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Learning Services 
4 North Double Springs Road
Farmington, AR 72730
Office: 479-267-7450 ext 334
Fax: 479-267-7456
Link to English Learners team work:

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More