Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Child Find

Child Find is a component of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEA) that requires states to identify, locate, and evaluate all children with disabilities aged birth to 21, who are in need of early intervention or special education services.

Child Find is an ongoing cooperative effort that involves state and local education agencies, parents, the community, professionals, related organizations, and private schools.

IDEA requires all states to have a "comprehensive Child Find system" to assure that all children who are in need of early intervention or special education services are located, identified, and referred.

In Arkansas, the lead agency for Part C of IDEA Early Intervention Program (children birth to 3 years) is the Arkansas Department of Human Services. The lead agency for Part B/619 (children ages 3-21 years), is the Arkansas Department of Education.

 

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESEA Flexibility

Learn More

Latest News & Events

Learn More