Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Prescribed Pathway Credentials

Act 1063 of 2017, the Right to Read Act states: “By the beginning of the 2021-2022 school year: A) All teachers employed in a teaching position that requires an elementary education (K-6) license or special education (K-12) license shall demonstrate proficiency in knowledge and practices of scientific reading instruction; and B) All other teachers shall demonstrate awareness in knowledge and practices of scientific reading instruction. 
 
The Arkansas Department of Education has established the following pathways for teachers who must demonstrate Proficiency or Awareness in scientific reading instruction. 
 

Prescribed Pathways for Proficiency Credential: 

All teachers employed in a teaching position that requires an elementary education (K-6) license or special education (K-12) license shall demonstrate proficiency in knowledge and practices of scientific reading instruction by completing both phases of a prescribed pathway. This includes any teacher employed in grades K-6 teaching English Language Arts, Math, Science or Social Studies. Other non-core academic areas in K-6 must show awareness in the Science of Reading (e.g., Art, Music, PE, Library Media, Counselor, Administrators).
 
Phase I outlines professional learning that meets the knowledge and practices in scientific reading instruction approved by the ADE. Phase II provides for demonstration of knowledge and practices in scientific reading instruction.
 

Recommended for Teachers K-3 and K-6 SPED

Pathway A

Phase I - Successful completion K-2 R.I.S.E. Academy (6 days w/ coaching)
Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)

Pathway B

Phase I - LETRS Foundations Training (3 days) (Available through Educational Cooperatives) plus SoR Phonics & Word Study (2 days - Begins 2019) plus Phonemic Awareness (1 day - Begins 2019)
Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)
 

Recommended for Teachers 3-6 and 7-12 SPED

Pathway C

Phase I - Successful completion 3-6 R.I.S.E. Academy (6 days w/ online support)
Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)

Pathway D

Phase I - ArkansasIDEAS Learning Path: Science of Reading (18 hrs) plus SoR 
Disciplinary Literacy PD (3 days - Begins 2019)
Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)

Pathway E

Phase I - Micro-credential: ADE Science of Reading (Begins 2019)
Phase II - Completed Micro-credentials
 

Recommended for Teachers K-6 and K-12 SPED

Pathway F

Phase I - Complete an IMSLEC accredited course of study at Practitioner (CALP) or Therapist 
(CALT) level.
Phase II - Current IMSLEC certification CALP or CALT

Pathway G

Phase I - Pearson Foundations of Reading Test
Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)

Pathway H

Phase I - **Districts may submit a request for a specific independent professional development (IPD) provider to be reviewed by ADE.
Phase II - To be determined after ADE review and approval of District Plan

Pathway I

Phase I - IMSE Comprehensive (version 2017) plus Science of Reading Training (1 day - Begins 2019) plus Phonemic Awareness (1 day - Begins 2019)
Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)

Pathway J

Phase I - Arch Ford Co-op K-3 Grade Level Reading (Offered 2016-2018)
Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)

Pathway K

Phase I - IMSE Intermediate (version 2017) plus Science of Reading Training (1 day - Begins 2019) plus Phonemic Awareness (1 day - Begins 2019)
Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)

Pathway L

Phase I - Hill Center HillRAP/HillWrite plus Science of Reading Training (1 day - Begins 2019) plus Encoding Training (1 day - Begins 2019)
Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)

Pathway M

Phase II - *Observation by ADE Certified SoR Assessor (Begins 2019-2020)

* ADE Certified Science of Reading (SoR) Assessor:

An ADE Certified Science of Reading (SoR) Assessor must 1) be a licensed administrator or serving in the role of the administrator; 2) complete Phase I of a Prescribed Pathway for Proficiency Credential; and 3) attend an SOR Assessor Academy (Begins 2019). It is highly recommended that administrators attend R.I.S.E. Academies with their teachers. 

** District Submission of Independent Professional Development (IPD) 

Districts desiring to use a pathway other than those already approved by ADE may submit a request for a specific Independent Professional Development (IPD) provider to be reviewed by ADE using the IPD Review Form (available in the Related Files section of this page). This is NOT a review of the curriculum program but rather the training program provided for teachers.  If an IPD training program is approved, it will be added to the Prescribed Pathways for Proficiency list for the state. The district is responsible for submitting all necessary materials for consideration. Requests will not be accepted directly from a vendor. Detailed instructions can be found on the IPD Review Form.
 
For the most current information, please visit www.risearkansas.org

Prescribed Pathways for Awareness Credential: 

All other teachers (e.g., 7-12 Content Specific, Coaches, Library Media Specialists, Career and Technical Education, Counselors, Administrators) shall demonstrate an awareness in knowledge and practices in scientific reading instruction by completing one of the Prescribed Pathways for Awareness.  

Recommended for all other licensed educators not required to show Proficiency

Online:

ArkansasIDEAS
Science of Reading Learning Path
A total of 18 hours of instructional content released bi-monthly 
(beginning summer 2018).  If you need assistance with your ArkansasIDEAS 
account please contact:
ArkansasIDEAS Help Desk
Mon-Fri | 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM 
Phone: (800) 488-6689
Email: ideas@aetn.org
ideas.aetn.org

Face to Face:

Phase I of any of the approved Prescribed Pathways for Proficiency Credentials
Check with session providers for registration and attendance details.  
 
This page was last updated on July 23, 2018.

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESSA

Learn More

MY SCHOOL INFO

Learn More