Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Distinguished Schools Awards


Each year, Title I schools are recognized by the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) and the National Association of State Title I Directors (NASTID) through a joint project with the United States Department of Education as Title I Distinguished Schools.  Schools are selected by a state peer review team, the following schools represent examples of superior Title I programs in one of two categories:

  1. Priority - Exceptional student performance for two or more consecutive years 

  2. Focus - Closing the achievement gap between student groups 


2011 – Seattle, WA

Category 2 (Focus)
Fouke Elementary 
P.O. Box 20
Fouke, AR 71837


2010 – Tampa, FL 

Category 1 (Priority)
Eastside Elementary School 
505 East New Hope Rd

Rogers, AR 72756
Category 2 (Focus)
Gibbs Albright Elementary School 
407 Wilkerson Drive
Newport, AR 72112


2009 – Washington, DC

Category 1 (Priority)
Cedar Park Elementary School
1200 Cedar Street
Trumann, AR 72472
Category 2 (Focus)
Lonoke Middle School
1100 W. Palm Street
Lonoke, AR 72086


2008 – San Antonio, TX 

Category 1 (Priority)
Arnold Drive Elementary
4150 Arnold Drive
Jacksonville, AR 72076
Category 2 (Focus)
Warren Dupree Elementary
700 Gregory Street
Jacksonville, AR 72076



For more information, please contact:

Otistene Smith, Public School Program Advisor
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Learning Services
Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot #26
Little Rock, AR 72201 
Phone: 501-683-5423
Fax: 501-682-5136

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESEA Flexibility

Learn More

Latest News & Events

Learn More