Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Disciplinary Literacy Standards

The Arkansas Disciplinary Literacy Standards for Grades 6-12 are built from the same anchor standards for reading and writing as the Arkansas English Language Arts Standards; therefore, expectations for reading and writing are aligned across the disciplines.  These standards allow flexibility for each discipline to define the types of texts and forms of writing that are unique and appropriate for that content. The disciplinary literacy standards do not take the place of content standards; instead, reading and writing are literacy tools used to support students as they learn the content in each discipline.

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESEA Flexibility

Learn More

Latest News & Events

Learn More