Teachers who receive the National Board Certified Teachers (NBCT) certification, which can take up to three years to complete, have demonstrated their understanding of national, rigorous teaching standards, as well as their ability to implement educational practices that are research-based.
Act 1060 of 2001 as amended by Act 1803 of 2003 authorizes and funds the Arkansas Department of Education to provide a support program for teachers who wish to become National Board Certified Teachers. The department will pay the initial application fee for a candidate to the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. Support also includes three paid release days for those chosen for the program and a $5,000 annual bonus for up to 10 years once certification is received.
NBCT Candidates: The time has arrived for each National Board Candidate (state funded or self-funded) to select a support site. Please register as soon as possible. The deadline is Monday, September 18, 2017, by the end of the day.
To register for the site of your choice, please go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/2017supportcenterregistration.
The deadline for state funding for the 2017-2018 school year has passed. Check this page in March 2018 for dates, locations and times of the orientations offered throughout the state in April and early May. A registration link will be provided. The 2018 National Board State Funding Application will be posted in May. Applicants have until June 30, 2018, to electronically submit the application which will be scored around mid-July. Those meeting or exceeding the cut score will receive state funding. Emails are sent to every applicant with scores included.
If you decide to self fund, you can start the National Board Certification process immediately. Contact NBPTS at 1-800-22-TEACH or go to www.nbpts.org and click on “Get Started”. ADE is responsible for annual bonuses and state funding for candidacy. National Board is responsible for all information regarding content and process.
You must have three years of classroom teaching experience in an Arkansas public school and that experience includes any years on either a Provisional and/or Standard Arkansas Teaching License.
The Arkansas Department of Education is requesting proposals to facilitate a National Board Candidate Support Site. Sites will be approved based on the number of candidates registered and/or geographic location. Click on the link below for qualifications and request submission.
Vanessa Holt, Administrative Specialist III
Arkansas Department of Education
Office of Educator Effectiveness
Four Capitol Mall, Room 112-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.Learn More
Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.Learn More