Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Recognition of National Title I Distinguished Schools

« Back to album

During its May 13 Meeting, the State Board recognized National Title I Distinguished schools based on outstanding performance in one of two categories: Category 1: Schools with exceptional student performance or alternative accountability criteria for those state with ED-Approved ESEA Flexibility Requests - for two or more years. Category 2: Schools that significantly closed the achievement gap between subgroups of students. Euper Lane Elementary in Fort Smith School District serves 470 students in Grades Kindergarten - 6 and was selected in 2015 as meeting category 2. Pictured are ADE Deputy Commissioner Mark Gotcher, Principal Sherri Penix and Assistant Superintendent Barry Owen.

For more information, please contact:

Kevin Briggs, Production Artist
Arkansas Department of Education
Office of Communications
Four Capitol Mall, Room 403-A
Little Rock, AR 72201

Phone: 501-683-5945



State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESEA Flexibility

Learn More

Latest News & Events

Learn More