Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Recognition of AP Scholars and Presidential Scholars

« Back to album

Erin McShane was recognized by the State Board as a Presidential Scholar. The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects one young man and one young woman from each state for the honor which recognizes some of the nation’s most distinguished graduates. Erin is a graduate of Conway High School who is now attending the U.S. Naval Academy. She accepted the honor along with her mother, Amelia, from ADE Commissioner Johnny Key. Alan B. May,a graduate of Episcopal Collegiate School in Little Rock, was also honored as a Presidential Scholar but was not able to attend. However, he sent a gracious note of thanks.

For more information, please contact:

Kevin Briggs, Production Artist
Arkansas Department of Education
Office of Communications
Four Capitol Mall, Room 403-A
Little Rock, AR 72201

Phone: 501-683-5945



State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More