Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  

Poyen School District and ATOY Recognition

« Back to album

Sen. Bobby Pierce and Sen. Alan Clark recognized 2015 Arkansas Teacher of the Year Ouida Newton Feb. 9, 2015, during the 90th General Assembly. The Poyen School District also was recognized for excellent test scores. Vick Barrett, the district's head football coach, was honored for being named AA Coach of the Year. Pictured left to right: Tina Elliott, elementary principal; Dennis Emerson, high school principal; Jamie Webb, assistant principal; Sen. Alan Clark; Ouida Newton, 2015 Arkansas Teacher of the Year; Jerry Newton, superintendent; Sen. Bobby Pierce; and Vick Barrett, head football coach.

For more information, please contact:

Kevin Briggs, Production Artist
Arkansas Department of Education
Office of Communications
Four Capitol Mall, Room 403-A
Little Rock, AR 72201

Phone: 501-683-5945



State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More

ESEA Flexibility

Learn More

Latest News & Events

Learn More